February Book Blog

My husband has been (dare I say?) nagging me to post my book blog for this month. And yes, it is already March 10th (1/3 of the way through, yes!) and yes, I really need to get on it, so here goes. Unfortunately, I was lazy this month and only read two books. I blame it on the short month, however. Also, the lack of reading this month lead to one of my goals for March (see below).

This month I read Object Lessons by Anna Quindlen and The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle by Avi. Object Lessons was a Boston used book store find back in November, and it was sitting on my night stand for about two months before I finally picked it up and read it. And once I did, I couldn’t put it down. Once again, Anne Quindlen amazed me (I had read Blessings by her last year). The book focuses on the Scanlan family and the different generations. The Scanlan family is a notorious family in the town for both their clout and their riches. The family is dominated by John Scanlan, a business man who is despised by much of his family, yet is obeyed without question. Much of the family focuses on John, his outsider daughter-in-law Connie, and Connie’s daughter and John’s well-loved granddaughter, Maggie. Through this novel (which was categorized by some as YA Lit on Amazon.com but I don’t buy into that really), the reader is shown the pressures of family. While it took me some time, for one reason or another, to get past the first few pages, once I dove into this book, I rarely came up to breathe.

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle might be considered a bit of a cop-out this month, since I had technically read it before, although it has been at least 10 years since I’ve read it. I picked it up one afternoon during silent reading time in my class (I had it on my classroom bookshelf and wanted to model good reading), took it home with me, and finished it that night (my students were amazed). In that short 24-hour period, everything that I loved about this book when I was a middle schooler came rushing back to me: the “adultness” of the book without it being risque or too mature, the action of the book, the true emotion. I think I remember wanting to BE Charlotte Doyle the first time I read it, and I am sure that I had written some of my own “adventure on the sea”-type novels soon afterwards. This book focuses on a young girl who is traveling across the ocean in the 1800s aboard a ship that is run by cruel and savage captain and his mutinous crew. Charlotte finds herself in the middle of it all and must take sides eventually. It was a good book, although I must admit, the ending had a “deux et machina” feel to it, although in young adult literature (YA Lit), a happy/hopeful ending is often the recipe. Overall, I really enjoyed reading the book again. It should be no surprise that the book I am currently reading is a YA Lit book as well.

Well, that’s all until March. I promise to better on the reading front this time. I need to achieve SOME of my goals for this month. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Reading/Books

Leave a Reply

