‘Tis a gift to be simple

In the past six months or so, I have become a blog addict. (My favorite blogs are over on the right-hand side, if you want to check them out.) At first I was looking for green blogs, but that slowly emerged into green/housemaking blogs, and then into housemaking blogs. But no matter what the focus is of these blogs, one thing is characteristic of all: they stress the need for simplicity. Whether in cleaning, in eating, or in decorating, these blogs all focus on how important it is to live simply and enjoy life without all the EXTRA stuff. 

Needless to say, I have become really inspired by these women and their blogging. I love the idea of living simply and thriftily but not in an uptight, out-of-control way (for example, because you are constantly stressing about money all the time), but rather in a way that reflects the thoughts of “I don’t need all the extra clutter in my life. I don’t need to spend money on things I don’t need. Yes, I can have nice things, but there are different ways to go about that.”

For example, cleaning products. I am really trying to streamline my cleaning products. Right now I use on a regular basis vinegar, baking soda, Mr. Clean magic erasers, Lysol (for those really gross things, usually related to dogs) (although I’m still experimenting with floor cleaners – haven’t found an environmentally friendly one yet that I like). I really like the simplicity of using some microfiber cloths, and vinegar/water combo to clean almost everything. It just seems so simple and so . . . fresh. Simple cooking is another aspect. I love the idea of cooking with few, fresh, wholesome ingredients. Now, due to lifestyle, sometimes that is not always possible, but when it does happen, it feels really good.

Buying products is another thing. I have found myself become very interested in antiques and second-hand items. I am starting to love the look of vintage items, but I don’t just want the LOOK, but the actuality of it too. It seems silly and wasteful to me to purchase a brand-new product when you can get the original one (and often for less!). Plus, there seems to be something rewarding in finding a “treasure” when you are at antique stores and second-hand shops. 

I am going to try to live my life a little bit more simply now – perhaps less “noise,” less “clutter,” less “junk.” I still want to have a beautiful home, but hey, if I don’t need something I should get rid of it – but not throw it out! Donate it or regift it (!). It seems like a lifestyle that really makes a lot of sense to me, and, I got to admit, perhaps those Shakers knew what they are singing about.

P.S. I updated my links with some of the new blogs I just discovered – check them out!

1 Comment

Filed under Going Green, Random Life

One response to “‘Tis a gift to be simple

Leave a Reply

