I’ll be home for Christmas

Well, it’s Christmas Eve. I haven’t updated in a while. Things have been crazy at school (as usual) and today is officially the first day of our Christmas break. Twelve days off – can it get any better? Here is my rundown of how those 12 days are going to play out.

Today is going to be spent doing lots of Christmas-y things. I have presents to wrap, cookies to bake, last-minute shopping to do, cleaning to get done, and Christmas movies to watch (“White Christmas” and “Elf” are on the agenda for today). Church is tonight, and J and I are going to the 5:00 (kids’ retelling of the Christmas story) and 7:00 (with his family) services. Afterwards, we’re having crab legs, bongo bongo dip, cheese ball and crackers, and egg nog, and then perhaps a ride to see the Berwick Boulevard. And of course, no Christmas Eve would be complete without at least one viewing of “A Christmas Story” on TBS.

This Christmas is going to be strange, though, because it is the first one for J & I as a married couple, on our own, and the first one where I am not going to see my parents, or any of my family, on Christmas. I called my grandparents last night to ask if they wanted us to come visit on Christmas, but they already have other plans, so I guess it is a true Higgins Christmas. However, J is looking forward to playing Wii (and some new Wii games he might get for Christmas, perhaps?) and taking a nap tomorrow, before going to his parents’ house for Christmas, and I have to admit . . . it does sound nice not having to rush around on Christmas. Usually only bad weather has allowed for a relaxed, stay-at-home Christmas for me and my family in the past.

After Christmas, J has to go back to work during the week, so I will probably just be doing some chores, catching up on some grading, and playing with the dogs. There are some family events coming up this weekend to go to, as well. And then next Wednesday, on New Year’s Eve, J & I are headed out of Philly to the Atlanta airport to spend some time with my family. We were originally going to stay Wednesday night to Sunday, but we’re driving home with my sister, which is a 15 hour drive. Needless to say, neither J and I are looking forward to going back to work after such a long drive the day before, so I think we are going to head home on Saturday, to give us a day to recuperate.

Anyway, those are our plans for the holidays. A bit busy, but for the most part, not too bad. I know it is going to fly by, too, so I just to remember to sit back and enjoy them . . . after I get everything done today!

From our home to yours, we hope you have a wonderful Christmas and a happy New Year!

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Life

Leave a Reply

