Gracias

This will only be my third post this month. I know I have been slacking, but I also can’t believe that November is almost over, and Thanksgiving is tomorrow. While at times I feel as though this school year is d r a g g i n g on, at other points it feels like it is whizzing on by.

Tonight Jason and I leave for Disney World, along with my sister. Both of our families are already down there, and we are all planning on spending Thanksgiving together as one giant family, which will be nice. However, it will also be the first Thanksgiving that I can ever remember not being spent at my grandparents’, so I have mixed feelings about that. But I am super excited to spend 5 days away from school and schoolwork and grading and in the place where dreams come true.

I’ve decided to create a list of things that I am thankful for, in honor of Thanksgiving. Lately I have been feeling a little pessimistic, as I am adjusting to my new life as a wife and teacher and adult. Honestly, I have much to be thankful for, and it would be extremely selfish of me to ignore all the wonderful things in my life. So here goes:

I am thankful for my husband, my family, my dogs, my friends, my students, my co-workers, the St. Luke’s family, our new home that is warm and comfortable, good health, never going hungry, being able to pay bills . . .

A hot cup of coffee in the mornings, warm showers, the smoky smell of a fire in our fireplace, our comfy bed, road trips to Boston, the feel of snow in the air, my piano and its willingess to always be played, Top Chef, cookie dough in the freezer ready to eat, chapstick, a bookshelves full of books, Tranquil Mint body lotion, Bloomin’ Bagels every Sunday, Italian food, going to Rome for our honeymoon, early morning sunrises, NPR, the ability to express myself on a blog, music, shopping trips to the mall, my down-filled vest, cozy slippers . . .

This is only the tip of the ice berg, but from the rather trivial to the most important, I truly have much to be thankful for. So enjoy your Thanksgivings, and I’ll be thinking of you from sunny Florida.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Life

Leave a Reply

