Georgia on my mind

Since the news is officially out, I guess I can blog about this now. My parents are moving to Georgia next month. They’ve finally traded in the cold weather for a warmer climate. Plus, my dad has been the minister at St. Luke’s for 22 years, about three times the average length of a pastor’s tenure at a church. I have very mixed feelings about this. On one hand, being a minister of a church that long is a loooong time, especially considering that when you’re a pastor, your work and your personal live can never be separate. My dad has seen it all: crises, deaths, weddings, births, sicknesses, depressions. Being invested in one group of people for so long takes its toll after a while. On the other hand, I cannot believe that my parents are moving so many states away. J and I went over to their house last night, and seeing the For Sale sign in the front yard gave me a lump in my throat. I mean, I grew up in that house. I have spent all except six months of my life in Bloomsburg. That house was my home for the longest time. And now to lose the house, the neighborhood, my senior pastor, and my parents in one shot is a lot to take.

I haven’t told them any of this. I am trying to be a big girl, trying to be supportive. But, really, it kind of sucks. I can’t help but feel like they are kind of abandoning my sister and I. I mean, my sister goes to college in Williamsport. There is no way that she is going to move to Georgia. Which means, ultimately, Jason and I are going to have to be parents de facto. And I really don’t want to deal with that. And what happens when we decide to have kids? Are my parents only going to be able to see their grandchildren a couple of times a year? I know my parents have given a lot of themselves to Bloomsburg for the past twenty-two years, and with my dad’s arthritis and asthma warmer weather would be better for him. But I can’t help but feel like they’re being selfish. My mom last night was like, “Well, you guys are going to move to Georgia in a couple years, right?” and I had to tell her “No!” about ten times. Just because YOU choose to move there doesn’t mean we want to. And I would never make Jason move there. His entire family is in this area.

So I’m not looking forward to the next month. My dad’s last day at church is October 26 (weird) and they officially move November 12. We’ll be seeing them about two weeks later because we’re all (my family and J’s family) going to Disney World over Thanksgiving. But to go to church, and be in Bloomsburg, without them is going to be . . . weird.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Life

Leave a Reply

