And we go on and on and on and on and on

Fair week ended yesterday. J and I went five times. It was probably the most times I have ever gone to the fair just to go and not work. Of course, during high school I was there basically every day, but that was because I worked for Sunset Ice Cream and had to be there. But this year we spent four nights and one afternoon there just for the food, the walking, the sights, and the people-watching. I was nervous that we wouldn’t be able to go a lot because we’re both working and I am always crazy-busy with school, but we managed to fit it in. And it was glorious.

Speaking of school, progress reports came out last week, meaning that I am already 1/8 of the way through the school year. Yeah, yeah, I know it’s bad that I am keeping track, but I can’t help it. I’m a time-keeper, a clock-watcher, a cross-the-days-off-my-calendar girl. I like seeing progress that has been made, which is, many times, in the form of time. And I have to admit, I am proud that I have already made it this far in my first year of teaching, because honestly there are some days when I do not know if I can make it. Of course, there are other days when I think, “Oh, I can so do this!” as well. It’s been a mix of good and bad, black and white, energy and complete exhaustion, but I am doing it, and that’s what matters.

This week and weekend were great though. The girls came up Friday night and we took them to the fair Saturday morning, and then we went to Annie’s house in the afternoon. J and I finally got our pictures framed – one was a wedding gift from the girls and three were originals we had picked up from an artist in Rome – so as soon as I am done typing this we are hanging them up. I decorated for fall a little bit, got some stuff done around the house (including fixing up a guest bedroom, finally), and today we are heading to my grandparents’ to put the cover on the boat. It has been a busy weekend but relaxing, and I’m sad that it’s almost over. But we’re starting a SSR (sustained silent reading) in my class tomorrow where students get to choose what they read (and if they don’t like the book, I’m not making them finish it). I really want to start literature circles but I don’t have the resources right now, so this is the next best thing. I’m reading a really awesome book called In the Middle by a middle-school English teacher named Nancie Atwell, and I am getting so much inspiration and ideas from her that I’ve been really pumped to start trying it. So I’ll have to update on how that goes.

Alright, time to hang those pictures!

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Life

Leave a Reply

