The leaves that were green are no longer so green . . .

Sunday officially ended summer for me. I know, I know, you would think the start of school would have marked that already. But school starts in late August, and even once the books are open and the wheels are a-turning, there are still glimpses of summer in the evenings and on the weekends: warm air, burgers on the grill, flip flops and shorts, daylight until 8:00 p.m., and, most importantly . . . boating. Labor Day weekend brought about a weekend of boating up at Lake Ontario for Jason, my college friends, and I, and there was a weekend or two of boating on the Susquehanna River with Jason’s parents. However, Sunday, J and I spent 12 hours on the road picking up our boat to bring home from the lake.

Yes, boating season is officially over, meaning the summer has drawn to a close. Let us take a moment of silence . . .

Truthfully, though, there are many things that I have to look forward to in the fall: I love the cooler air, the autumny foods, the changing leaves. I love little kids getting excited about Halloween and dressing up, and the thought that parades and trick-or-treating are just around the corner. I love the beginning of football season, but professional and high school, and the sounds of the marching bands and the fries that you can only get at the band stand. I love Thanksgiving and the delicious food (especially from my grandmother) and the days off from school, and knowing that Christmas is soon coming. I love shopping for Christmas presents. And, of course, I loooooove the Bloomsburg Fair and all the wonderful, country-ish, fattening goodness that comes with it. Truly, I live for fair week (even though I no longer have it off anymore).

However, despite all the pleasantries that fall brings, deep inside, I am a summer girl. I love summer, too, and the three months of hot sunshine, boating, sleeping in, sunglasses, cool drinks, flip flops, picnics, and vacations. As much as I love school (both as a student and now as a teacher), I also love the NOT school – the NOT having to worry about homework or lesson planning or waking up at an ungodly hour. And despite how much I love what autumn has to bring, a large part of me always mourns the passing of summer.

So the boat is now in the barn, school has been in session for four and a half weeks (midterms are tomorrow, yikes!), the windows in my house are closed and the air conditioner is now collecting dust, the Bloomsburg Fair is in session, the leaves are beginning to change, and while I have a lot to look forward to in the upcoming months, deep inside, I know that Summer 2008, the summer where I got married, bought a house, and became a teacher, has drawn to a close. But it was a good – no – a GREAT summer.

And with that said . . . time to put on a sweatshirt and get some fair food! 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Life

Leave a Reply

