Meet the fockers . . . I mean, parents

Tonight was our Middle School Open House. I had no idea what to expect. I mean, I haven’t really been to a school open house since . . . oh, I don’t know . . . 5th grade! I went to the SHS one last year but it didn’t really count since there were only a few parents that showed (it was in the second semester) and I wasn’t really the teacher and hadn’t been teaching most of the students by that point anyway (since it was early in the semester). So I re-printed my “Respect Contract” (my behavioral expectations) and made a snazzy little flyer with pictures and columns and a cute border (I’m a little proud of it, can’t you tell?) and went there tonight not really sure what to expect. I got there at about 6:20ish for the 6:30 Open House, and found about two dozen or so parents waiting outside the Middle School doors; I did NOT expect that.  I also did not expect the feeling of being a celebrity . . . I literally had people lining up to talk to me as I chatted with other parents.  Overall, though, I think it went all right. I found myself repeating the same things a lot: “Here’s my newsletter that tells you about my class, how I grade, and what we’ll be learning this year,” “If you have any questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to e-mail me,” “I have found that all seventh graders talk a lot,” “No, I am not a student, I am a teacher.” Okay, maybe I didn’t really have to say that last one, but I did have a few parents comment on how they thought I was a student and not a teacher. Grreaaat . . . I could understand being mistaken for a high school during student teaching, but seriously, a seventh grader?! Really? I think I will have to teach kindergarten for a few years in order for me to be recognized instantly as a teacher instead of a student.

Over all, though, I thought it was a good night and could not realize how quickly it went by. I probably met 20 or so of my students’ parents, which really is not even 1/4. It was neat to see how my students acted around their parents though and what the parents had to say about their kids. I found myself becoming more enthusiastic about teaching after tonight, so I have to say it was a productive evening. It’s also nice to know that there are supportive parents out there willing to meet their children’s parents and take a part in their education.

Leave a comment

Filed under School

Leave a Reply

